Advice on donor bike for the BBSHD

mctamz

1 µW
Hi,
I am thinking about getting a hybrid sport bike and converting it into an e-bike with the BBSHD.
I’m very new to this world but searching the internet I have come across 2 potential donor bikes I have in mind. Although I have done some research I would still like to know whether the following bikes will work with the BBSHD.

1. Canyon Roadlite AL 7.0( https://www.canyon.com/en-us/fitness/roadlite/roadlite-al-7-0)
It says that the BB is a Shimano RS500-PB which means it’s an 86mm Pressfit BB.
Will this work with a BBSHD with 100mm and pf41 adaptors sold at Luna Cycles?(https://lunacycle.com/pf-41-adapter-for-pressfit-bottom-brackets/)

2. Canyon Roadlite CF 7.0 ( https://www.canyon.com/en-us/fitness/roadlite/roadlite-cf-9-0)
It says that the BB is a SHIMANO SM-BB71-41A which means it’s a 92mm Press fit BB.
Will this also work with the BBSHD 100mm and the pf41 adaptors sold at Luna cycles?
I have another concern about this one since the frame of this particular bike is carbon.
I found some articles and discussions about carbon frames not being compatible with BBSHD’s.

As of now Luna Cycles does not seem to have the 100mm BBSHD selling on their site. Does this mean they don’t sell the 100mm BBSHD’s or are they out of stock and will re-stock if I wait? Or do you think the 120mm will work with the above bikes?

I would appreciate it for any feedback.
Thank you :D

mctamz said:
I found some articles and discussions about carbon frames not being compatible with BBSHD’s.
This is primarily because the frames are thicker around the BB shell, so the drive's casing may intersect wth the frame itself (which you can't just grind away), preventing it's use. Might also be other reasons, like potential cracking of the frame from twisting or pressure from the drive or it's mounts.