Another BMS project using single cell modules

Peter.bp

10 W
My idea for BMS was to create separate PCB for each cell in series...
As I have some experience using PIC micro controllers and as they're quite cheap, have decided to build an individual cell module using PIC12F675 (average cost <0.5$)...
The requirements were set up:
- Accuracy of cell voltage measurement < 10mV.
- Standby current < 0.01mA
- Communication: serial through daisy chain.
- Max automatic bleeding current >0.5A.
- Easy calibration and set up (HVC, LVC and bleeding threshold set point).
- Simple asynchronous communication protocol.
- Operating voltage 2.5V-5V.
- Stand alone operation (no need polling modules).

One year ago, I created a prototype and have published some details on my site: http://bps.biz.hr/BMS.html.
The site is not well maintained and the project is still not finished, but there is explained the communication protocol which I developed.
I know that the pages are not well organized, but think that it is enough to get the picture what I wanted to make.

Measured average standby current on prototype was less than 8uA at 4.2V and less than 3uA at 3.3V. The quiescent current doesn't increase significantly when particular cell goes into low voltage alarm as it sends alarm message only every ~2.3 seconds...

After a while, I changed the circuit to this:
4LayoutNsch.gif

NB, the processor is still PIC12F675, not PIC12F683. The voltage reference is replaced with ADR5040 (2.048V).
In order to increase accuracy and to make voltage measurement more resistive to transients, I increased ADC resolution to 12bit by oversampling.
In addition, have changed voltage reference from original 1.2V to 2.048V (ADR5040).

At this moment, I'm waiting for AD5040 voltage references and then I'm ready to start testing.
Four battery packs are ready for testing this modules:
- HK 15C 5000mAh (total 12S2P)
- Headway 38120S 8S20P (my solar system battery)
- Headway 38120S 16S1P (my old electric bicycle)