BMS Programming Questions

rg12

100 kW
I'm starting to use this awesome ANT BMS with the bluetooth app and so far so good, but since it's my first time programming a BMS, I have a few questions:
- It's default high cell protect is 4.19V while the high cell protect release voltage is 4.1V, is that common to set it to 4.19V? usually it's 4.25V but I don't wanna ever go that high.

- Balance difference to start balancing is set to 0.01V, isn't that too tight? wouldn't it risk the scenario of going into "race" where it balances down non stop and depletes the whole pack?

- There is a setting called Precharge Current and it's set to 20A, any idea what is it?

- There is a setting for short circuit current, any idea what to type there? why would I allow any amount of current in a short circuit? it also has another setting called short circuit delay set to 600ms.

- In addition to the total pack capacity setting it has a setting called total cycle capacity, any idea what they mean by that?

With the cell high voltage protection, you just need to make sure that either your BMS or charger cuts off charge current before it reaches 4.19.

For example, my 10s 36v hoverboard pack and charger go to 42.2v, so 42.5v protection makes sense. Every basic bms and charger I've had do the same thing, they go a bit too high. If i had the option it would stop earlier, and it does on my custom packs.

The short circuit setting is for you to set how much current for how long before it triggers the protection. So if its 100a, it will need to see 100a or greater for .6 of second before it stops shorting out, then it need to meet the release parameter to close the circuit again. Set the current and time as low as you reasonably can, 600ms is too long IMO but that's exactly why i love programmable BMSs.

valueseek said:
With the cell high voltage protection, you just need to make sure that either your BMS or charger cuts off charge current before it reaches 4.19.