Converting my Bullitt Cargo Bike

Xoc

1 mW
Hello,

I've been reading a bit on getting a kit for my Bullitt Cargo Bike made by Larry vs Harry.
I've been commuting for about 8 years now on my touring bike, and I also have a road bike that I do some racing on.

The cargo bike is fast to bike around empty, but gets heavy once I put anything in it. I plan on making a canopy to put little ones in in the near future, so that will add even more wind resistance and weight. The bike has a 20" front and 26" rear wheel and has Mechanical Disc Brakes front and rear.

I'm thinking of going with a DD hub motor in the Front and hope to use regen with it, so that it helps cut down on replacing brake pads.
I'm hoping for some sort of PAS. I don't need this to be a speed demon, just something to take off the stress of pushing such a heavy bike around.

From what I can tell, the "Crystalyte Front H Kit, Advanced PAS" from ebikes.ca is my best bet. Though I think the motor is probably overkill for what I need?
I think I'd put a 48V battery with a 20amp controller.

I guess I'm just looking for advice on what people would recommend based on:
- wanting PAS
- wanting regen
- heavy bike
- max speed needed 35kph
- fairly reliable

I've looked at the Bionx D500 kit, and while I love the way the PAS works on it, I was hoping to save a bit while DIYing a more powerful kit for less money.

Thanks for any feedback, here's some pictures of my cargo bike as it currently is:
IMG_20160715.jpg
IMG_20160915.jpg
Mike

I think you might find a direct drive hub sluggish if you're used to pedaling your bike freely. Consider using a geared hub motor. Regen is a buzz kill when it means you can't coast normally. If you ride pedal bike style, you'll get more benefit from coasting than from regen anyway.

http://www.goldenmotor.ca/products/26-Inch-Rear-Black-Magic-Conversion-Kit.html
Or check ebay.

If you live in an area with hills, I definitely think regen braking is a huge plus.