Crystalyte TC80 High Torque Motor - but with What Controller??

Nevin Austin

10 µW
Hi Guys -

I am a veteran ebike builder, but find myself in new territory. For many years, I used Crystalyte controllers until the dependability went down. Then I switched to Grin controllers and still do for smaller 48V systems, but this new project I have -- is for a high torque off-road dual suspension machine that need extreme climbing power. At one point I rode a Surron and found that it could almost do wheelies... Which I loved the torque. But not sure if their controller is the solution. Not even sure which one they use.

So, I am wondering if any of you out there might be able to suggest the best (not to big or heavy) controller to bring my 72V system alive with amazing climbing power and torque?? Not really worried about speed on the high-end.

Much appreciated,
Chris

Depends on the rest of your system. Some thoughts, since we don't know anything about your system other than it is a "72v system", and a TC-80 (hubmotor, but used in a wheel, or used as a middrive?) which is very little info (and nowhere near enough to choose a controller/etc with). (presumably this is a different system from the other thread you have going that you have yet to reply to).

The Surron is a middrive; middrives can be geared for torque or for speed without changing the motor itself, as long as the motor can handle the power required to do the job you need it to, under the conditions you have, while producing the torque you need it to.