Cyclone 3000W Aluminum custom frame build...

Jim Day

1 µW
I guess I should start by telling you how I got into this...... :roll:

I'm an artist/sculptor/custom fabricator with a shop in L.A. I concentrate on one offs, or one of a kind problem solving. Clients come to me with an idea of something they want to make, but that they can't figure out how to build, and I make the thing, often coming up with a unique process to do it. I can fab in variety of materials but what I really like is metal and one of my favorite materials is aluminum which I both TIG and MIG. I'm one of those crazy/lucky people that kind of does exactly what they are supposed to do. I build things for money and when I get free time I build my own things for fun, or make things for my friends. In this case I'm building for my freind Gary so it's really kind of a collaboration. Gary is a hunter. I'm not talking about a guy who wears orange gear and rides around in a truck looking for something to shoot at. I'm talking more a mountain man who goes out into the wilderness for weeks at a time miles away from the nearest roads or help, and then packs out meat when he's done. He doesn't just want a electric bike, he wants a mule to get him out to the wilderness and back extending his range. So this build has a very specific purpose. Kind of a dual sport motorized mountain bike. I've never messed with electric bikes before but I'm good with power and have played around with bikes in general. In L.A. there is a art bike scene where people build crazy bicycles then ride them around at huge events. One of the main co-ops used to rent a space next to me and they got me into it. Since I weld aluminum I get to play with aluminum frames that no-one else can work on, so I'm pretty used to playing with aluminum bikes with various funky configurations.
JNXcS6F.jpg

I also dual sport motorcycle mods. My current build is a rally style dirt bike for vintage offroad racing.
24887251845_82f40306a1_o.jpg