Help taming a Cyclone mid drive - CA?

kgb

1 µW
Hi all, first post so bear with me.

BACKGROUND:
I'm a reasonably fit racing cyclist with experience working in bike shops so mechanic work is no problem and I have all the bike specific tools on hand. I'm a high school science teacher with some knowledge of electronics although, TBH, it's probably my weakest area.
I've built my first ebike with two purposes in mind:
1. Commuting - 52km round trip, mostly flat roads and shared paths. Alternatives are motorcycle or normal bicycle, which I have been alternating between for the last 3 years.
2. Motor-paced cycle training - as in, I lead on the ebike and run paced sessions for other riders with sprint drills (eg them sprinting to overtake me etc).

THE BIKE:
The bike I've built is based on a steel framed, single speed, flat bar road bike. Based on that donor, I have since built a new rear wheel with a Nexus 3 speed hub and added a basic Cyclone mid-drive kit from Luna Cycle. No PAS etc. 52V battery with 14Ah which gives me enough juice to make the commute with some pedalling input. I tried it with virtually no pedalling effort last week and it drained the battery about 2km short of home. With the 3 speed hub, the bike will top out at ~58km/h on the flat.

THE PROBLEM: