Help with failed controller

Kelso

1 µW
Hey,
I'm new to working on E-bikes but trying to improve to offer this service at my shop. I got a GoTrax electric fat bike in (cheap, Amazon special) that had quit working and was able to test and determine the hub motor was ok but the controller had shorted. It's a 48V system with a Tongsheng KZQW26-BRD-XF26C controller and I can't find ANYTHING for that part number. I opened up the controller and found the failed MOSFET so replaced it and cut off the old, melted bullet connectors and soldered on an XT60 and MT60 connectors and hoped for the best... well, it worked. Once, for a second, then failed again. Now I'm getting some odd resistance readings including momentary continuity between power leads which settles out close to 800kohms, not sure if it's just from the failed mosfet or something else on the board which is causing the failure but I feel like I'm getting a bit beyond my knowledge and comfort level diagnosing circuit boards.
Contacting GoTrax proved to be useless, the warranty period on this bike was 90 days and expired and they do not have or sell replacement controllers. They did provide some useful nuggets though, such as "if it still doesn't work, try turning it back on and see if it works." and suggesting that the exposed power connector from the picture I sent them (after totally disconnecting it) might be touching a wire causing the problem.