High powered kickibike build

born49

100 mW
Hello guys,
I am complete newbie with this e-vehicle stuff and I am finishing my first build : electric kickbike with
HS3540 motor.

Some specs:

- Frame (steel) is 'Mibo Dextro' (http://mibospace.com/specs/dextro/dextro.htm)
- Motor: HS3540
- Battery: 18s (3 x Turnigy Multistar 16Ah) mounted on front fork
- ESC is Lyen 12 FET Mark II

- Torque arms (both sides) are 4mm titanium from E4Bike mounted to 5mm steel frame. I am not exactly happy with
the mounting hole being located almost at the end of the fork, but it was already present so I used it.
I am monitoring torque arms before / after each ride :)

- Rear wheel is 16" moped rim laced with 3mm spokes. The tire I use is 20" bicycle as the one targeted
for mopeds (which I bought) had some defect unfortunately.

- Total weight (ready to run) : around 34 kg

First riding impressions:

At the first, I set up controller very conservatively to 40A battery and 80A phase current. I took it for ride
with my friend and was very disappointed - there was almost no acceleration and I cannot climb
even not so steep hills. Also, at that time, Cycle Analyst was not connected yet, so I didn't knew what
watts are pumped into motor. I hoped, that this is not what direct drive motors can do.

For next ride I connected Cycle Analyst (unfortunately in legacy mode, so I cannot use throttle input remapping yet)
And configured the controller to 'unlocked' mode : battery current 100A a 300A phase current. This changed
everything. When I took it for a spin I was literally scared how wild the acceleration was. This exceeded my expectations
by large margin. I need to tame it somehow because throttle is little bit too touchy form my taste. Top speed
is about 65 km.h-1 on flat road and you get to this speed in about 3 seconds I guess. When doing this speed runs
CA reports about 7kW is pumped into motor.

Negatives (which are going to be solved :) )