I'm purchasing a 72v 40ah lifepo4 battery. Question regarding the BMS

Bhopson23

1 µW
Hello, I hope I'm posting this in the right forum. I recently bought a used Armada Preditor 72v ebike. The battery pack that came with it is a 72v 32ah SLA battery, and it is either at the end of its life cycle or was not taken care of, because it dies within 30 mins of driving it. I'm in the process of purchasing a new 72v 40ah lifepo4 battery pack. It costs alot of money so I wanted to double check a few things. The controller is rated at 40A with a peak of 80A. My question is regarding the amp hours between the battery and controller...Should the battery match what my controller is rated for. Or should it be higher than the controller. I will post a link to my bikes specs. As well as the battery im purchasing. And I really don't know alot so im just learning as I go so I appreciate everyone's help.

http://armadascooters.com/product/armada-predator-electric-moto-72v-500w-high-torque/

https://www.lifepo4battery-factory.com/product/72v-ebike-battery/

Your battery, bms and controller should all match in that they don't over charge and over discharge your battery.

As for your question about the controller drawing 80 amps, the specs you posted state that the battery can handle a 20C discharge. That would be 800 amps. That sounds high from where I am sitting, but if you are pulling 2C (aka 2 times the battery amp rating, or 80amps) that would be well within the specs you linked.

specs.JPG

:D :bolt:

Bhopson23 said:
The controller is rated at 40A with a peak of 80A. My question is regarding the amp hours between the battery and controller...Should the battery match what my controller is rated for. Or should it be higher than the controller.

Ah is the quantity of energy, like gallons.

Amps is the flow rate, voltage like water pressure

Power is Watts, amps * voltage.

Controller determines the amp rate, battery needs to be able to supply the power level, what it wants