Need a suitable frame and basic component bike ASAP to build out to ebike later.

bounce

10 µW
After reading some faqs and newbie stuff I started to think the Mongoose Terrex might be a decent choice to build out an ebike from since it has a steel frame, disc brakes, is cheap and I thought I could pick it up or get It shipped quickly. Then I noticed it’s no longer in stock in the places I’ve looked. I’m a student and the bike I’ve been riding is just falling apart in every way and I need a basic bike ASAP to get to school until I can save up and buy a battery/kit. I’m fine buying a suitable frame with basic components and upgrading components and then a battery/kit in that order. Here’s some more info that I hope helps push me in a better research direction because I’m going off into the weeds researching stuff!

Height: 5’10”

Weight 180

Biking experience: Have biked almost every day for 10 plus years and very comfortable on any terrain.

Terrain: mostly need the bike for road, but would be cool if I could take it on some even hard dirt paths occasionally and up a few paved hills. Is it preferred for a mostly road ebike to have knobby tires? Some days I’d leave the battery off and purely pedal.

Frame: This would be the most important because I’m ok upgrading components over time. Then kit/battery.

Cost: suitable frame and basic components I can upgrade later <400

Speed: later I’d buy a kit to go 20-30 mph

Range: will mostly worry about speed and distance later (since now I’m in need of the bike). I do like to pedal sometimes and maybe would go 30 or 40 miles away tops. Every day commute is about ten miles total.

Currently going to school in the Bay Area

bounce said:
Terrain: mostly need the bike for road, but would be cool if I could take it on some even hard dirt paths occasionally and up a few paved hills. Is it preferred for a mostly road ebike to have knobby tires? Some days I’d leave the battery off and purely pedal.