Need help understanding battery "math"

R84

10 mW
Hi guys I'm a newbie in the ebike world, I have some electrical knowledge (mechanic) I have a few questions. I am looking at purchasing from thunderstruck Ev the budget screamer kit 72 v brushed. 160amp continues and 400amp peek. This has the altrax SPM 72400 controller. Ok my question is I want to use 18650 3.7v 3100mah battery's. I'm thinking I will need at least 100ah and 72volts. Is there anyone who built a battery of this size ? I'm kinda stuck on the "math" part of this. How do I set them up, how many do I need ect. If anyone can help me out I would appreciate it. I have done some research with confusing conclusions. Made in China.com and the manufacturer is Wama they sell these battery's for5-8 cents a cell min order is 100 some are a 1000

Any info is a great help

Richard

https://youtu.be/cxkVxi9P0EA

Cells are the individual pieces that go together to make a battery. A battery is a collection of things, like a bunch of single 18650 cells.

100(Ah) x 72(V) = 7200(Wh)

So you want a 7200 watt hour battery (or pack).

Each of the cells you noted is 3.7(V) x 3100mAh (or 3.1Ah), which means 11.47Wh (assuming ideal variables).

7200Wh / 11.47Wh = 627.73 cells. You'll probably want something like a battery configuration of 20S32P or 20 in series by 32 in parallel.

If you truly want 400A peak, get the Samsung 25R cell, which is factory rated at 20A per cell.

400A divided by the 20A per cell using the 25R is 20P. That is a big battery. A nominal 20S (20 cells in series) is 3.6V X 20 = 72V, when fully-charged to 4.2V per cell, it will be 4.2V X 20S = 84V