Need help with Q100 install...

majornelson

100 W
I've built four bikes up from kits from EM3EV and GreenBikeKits. All have been assembled and worked without any problems. I'm not a complete novice but I'm stumped with my latest project.

I added a Q100 bike kit to a women's (my wife's) Electra Townie this past weekend. This kit:
http://www.greenbikekit.com/electric-bike-kit-1/front/36v-250w-gbk-100f-electric-bike-kit.html

I chose the Q100 front drive, Con61 controller (no LED display, thumb throttle) on an assembled 26" wheel.

Front driving hub and I've done it in the past. I installed it, ran the wires and hooked it up to an existing 36v bottle battery from an AmpedBike kit that failed (still not certain why). Battery shows full charge (has a meter built into it).

After installing everything, I get nothing. Nada. No wheel spin or stutter, nothing.

I have extra controllers (Con62- not the 61), throttles, even another bike built out with the Q100.

Here's the testing that I did:

1) Hooked up the wheel to the existing bikes controller/battery and it worked fine.
2) Tried the Con62 controller (had to build an adapter cable for the battery) and nothing.
3) Tried a different (but same style) thumb throttle. Nothing.
4) Swapped in my battery from the other bike. Nothing.
5) Built a new wiring harness that connected to the Q100 hub and tried various combinations of accessories (I did this to check if I nicked the existing cable while installing it on the frame) but still had the same result using different controllers and thumb throttles.
6) I have an ebike tester and used it to check various parts. Only curious thing is that the controller check seemed to fail but I don't trust my expertise in setting up and interpreting the results. I think I have the tester from Em3EV.

A couple of curious observations.

1) When the battery is connected to the CON62 the battery charge indicator at the back of the bottle battery doesn't work.