New Bafang M800 build disaster- need help!

GeoffS

1 mW
Pre-warning...I'm not good with times and dates so this is to the best of my temporal recollection:
So the bafang M800 became available via Carbon Bike Kits late last year. I ordered late November...and despite a long (45 day) lead in time...everything only arrived just over a month ago (ahhh...yep 45 days plus postage = 4-5 months....ummm...interesting maths!). Postage was, however, quite economical which was nice (Yay to CBK for that!) Battery shipment to New Zealand is slow so I wasn't super surprised that the battery arrived about 3 weeks after everything else. The thought of posting it as soon as I paid is obviously a bit of a mystery (it came by air still). I live in New Zealand.
No assembly diagram came with it...NOTHING...but I've built 3 previous bafangs and a heap of TSDZ2s and everything looked straightforward (1 big multipin harness connection on the motor (plus very obvious battery connection and speedo...all very straightforward). Green for HMI (display) blue for speedo. Nice!
2 unused yellow plugs (1 male one female) one of which fits the included throttle (the other is for a brake cut off, I assume.)

I hooked everything up to check it out and it immediately popped a 25err code (torque sensor not detected).
I contacted Tony at Carbon bike kits.....crickets and tumbleweeds... (eventually he did return my inquiry).
I contacted Bafang who said Check the pins/unplug-replug (I'd already done that) replace the HMI (display) then the controller, then the torque tube to diagnose (I can't afford spares of those randomly).
CBK eventually respond and have (from Bafang apparently) an instruction to ride it to make the torque sensor send a decent signal, so (despite misgivings about this) I build it and ride it, shut it off and turn it on again....everything I can think of but the error remains.