New to LiFePo4 and New Member - Battery, charging and BMS Questions.

electroneg

10 µW
Hi All,

Great forum you have here, I've been reading through a number of threads on here and seems a great source of information and help.
My name is Dale and I live in a small country in the UK called Wales.
I'm an Electronics/Industrial electrical engineer by trade.

I've just started using LiFePo4 batteries and would like to find out more about them and how to make sure I'm getting the most out of them and interested in charging and testing in detail.

My use case for them is a bit mixed, I'm a Radio Amateur so I like to operate my equipment portable. That varies so I take different size batteries with me depending on what I'm doing. From being near the car to being at the top of a mountain.

We are also avid campers so enjoy breaks away in the tent and ideally like to go to quieter more remote locations that tend not to have mains hookup so planning on taking some LiFePo4 batteries with us.

So far I've bought a number of batteries with built in BMS's and I also have some cells I've salvaged from jump starter packs.

Out of the 4x "12.8V" Batteries I've bought with built in BMS unit's I've noticed something happening with them all fresh out of the box.
3x Of these batteries are the same, "12.8V"/ 8Ah and another is a different brand and capacity, that is a "12.8V" / 22Ah (24Ah Nominal)

With the 3x identical batteries I charged each one individually using one of my Bench Power Supplies, I set the current limit to 2A and Voltage to 14.6V
everything seems good through the CC bulk phase, but as soon as the current goes down and it starts approaching 14.6V in CV mode the BMS will disconnect the cells, so one or more cells are hitting the limit causing the BMS to disconnect. This has varied between 14.4V - 14.6V between these batteries.
So I'm only getting seconds on the CV stage before the BMS disconnects the cells which I'm not fond of.