Newbie question - motors and 9 pin

Stevew77

1 mW
Hi,

Im totally new to ebikes, have an electrical background and was hoping people way more knowlegable than me could answer a few basic questions on motors and plugs. I thought when i got this motor with a weird plug "uh oh...."

Ok... I bought a 250W unbranded hub motor that has a 9 pin julet plug. Does anyone have any diagrams on what pin does what please, and can i run them with any off the shelf controller?

Are hub motors with 9 pin connectors actually permenant magnet 3 phase motors driven by a DC-to-3 phase converter?

Are most hub motors 3 phase? I thought maybe they were PWM controlled dc motors?

That should do it for starters...any help much aprreciated. Great site by the way.

Welcome to the forum

These motors are 3 phase DC, but they don't work like a 3 phase AC motor. And while PWM is used for power management (speed control), it's not being used to imitate AC to run the motor. Instead each phase is fired off by a micro controller based on the stator's position. A BLDC motor is just a stepper motor who's controller is programmed for continuous rotation.

You should be able to run the motor off most BLDC ebike controllers, but the chances of being able to just plug in the connector are slim to none.

There is no standard for the positions of those 9 pins. The 3 thicker pins are the motor leads. the other 5 include a ground, a +5v, and 3 outputs from the hall sensors. Also of note, the wire color means nothing. While red and black usually do mean +5v and ground, never assume that's correct. So to make the controller work, you'll have to match the hall and phase wires with the controller without relying on the colors. there's a handy flow chart for doing this. it's easier than it sounds.

fetch

Hi

Thanks for the info, that sreally helpful.