One of the hall sensor is not responding

octomore

1 µW
Hi everybody,

I'm testing a 10kW BLDC and I'm using a Kelly Controller (hall sensor control)

One of my hall sensors is stuck in a position (actually state+1 in other words; the hall switch is always on)

The faulty sensor is the one in the middle and 1st and 3rd sensors work just fine.

Due to the design, replacing a sensor is not an option so I'm thinking of replacing Kelly controller to another brand's model which can perform FOC control.

The first question is; I'm thinking of VESC controller or VESC compatible Maytech controller to perform FOC control however I have no experience with these two

brands. Are they good for me?

The second question is about the missing data from the faulty hall sensor; is there any way to imitate the signal of the faulty sensor in the middle by using 1st and

3rd sensors' data? (and any other data retrieved from the controller)

Any help is appreciated

Thanks in advance

I'm not aware of any way to "spoof" the missing hall signal based on two working ones. I have seen external encoders that you could possibly use to replace the sensors. Sensorless control on a big motor doesn't have a great track record, but it might possibly work depending on the application. Not good if you want a lot of startup torque from a dead stop.

Can you post a picture of the sensors? There must be some way to replace them.

Unfortunately, It is embedded in a polyurethane resin. So we cannot replace it.

Startup torque is not a must and we can cope with the harsh initial movement until the BEMF data is acquired by the controller.

One of my hall sensors is stuck in a position (actually state+1 in other words; the hall switch is always on)