Prelude to Oil Cooling a hub motor

Muncie, Indiana (USA) or Beijing or Tianjin (China
“By three methods we may learn wisdom: first, by reflection, which is noblest; second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third, by experience, which is the most bitter.” Confucius

I am preparing to head down the bitter road again. So, this is my prelude to oil cooling a hub motor.

My thoughts:

My need for low-end torque in stop and go situations means there will be lots of heat being developed. The motor I have is a nine continents 3000W hub motor.
Specs.jpg
I am not an engineer, nor do I have access to tooling (other than a drill press, angle grinder, metal cutoff saw, a jig saw *not currently working, a dremel, bench vice, and files). I have been working through lots of calculations, because I am using a nuvinci N171 (developers kit), and am not at the edge of the envelope, but close enough it is worth keeping tabs.

Torque, Power, and Speed Limits* of nuvinci N171

Maximum Sustained (Pulse-free) Input Torque 65 Nm (48 lb-ft)
Maximum Instantaneous (Spike) Input Torque 130 Nm (96 lb-ft)
Maximum Sustained Input Power 5 kW (7 hp)**
Maximum Recommended CVP Speed Input: 1000 RPM / Output: 1000 RPM

The motor is set-up for 700RPM no load. It has 3 speed (80%, 100%, 120%) switching. It also has ebrake.

Now....Here are my thoughts on cooling.

I am a big fan of drilled, centrifugal, internally finned air cooling methods. They are relatively easy, and they work. And...I think someone else has pointed out, no matter what cooling method you use (air, water, oil) you are ultimately using air, because in all three the final energy sink is the atmosphere. Other oil cooling attempts have met with various levels of success, ranging from failure to pretty good.