RC lipo batteries vs 18650 battery safety?

sonnetg

1 kW
Hello,
I am curious about the safety factor of lithium cells. I am a noob when it comes to lithium batteries. As far as I understand, both RC lipo batteries and 18650 batteries are lithium based, correct? RC Lipo pouch based batteries are lithium polymer and 18650 batteries are lithium cobalt? I am not sure on IMR and ICR type 18650 batteries though (Lithium manganese/lithium cobalt?). It seems IMR type has a safer chemistry.

I have been watching some youtube videos, and have come to the conclusion that lithium polymer based batteries can be extremely dangerous if not handled correctly. I have even seen few videos where a puffed Lipo battery caused a huge amount of smoke when punctured with a sharp object. On the other hand, I have a watched a video on ypedal channel where one 18650 batteries was sheared with a hacksaw, yet there wasn't a even a puff or smoke. Are 18650 batteries really this much safer than RC lipo packs?

Here's the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pwsuXKxzBKI

I know 18650 has metal casing and a safety valve to release the gas, but I had no idea that these batteries could be hacked and not go up in flames. That is pretty impressive. So does 18650 batteries have a different chemistry inside than most RC lipo batteries?

Any links to battery safety would be really helpful. I would really like to learn more on battery technology and safety before I build an ebike.

Thank you all so much,

Ok. I did some googling on various types of on IMR/IFR & ICR 18650 lion batteries, and found out the following info:

IMR -> LiCoO2 [Lithium Cobalt]
ICR -> LiMn [Lithium Manganese]
IFR -> LifePo4 [Lithium Phosphate]

So what exactly is Lipo chemistry based on? And what makes it so dangerous?

Found an interesting topic on this: http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/182219-understanding-lipo-fires-101-a.html