Some Guidance on Building Lithium Packs

freskhy

1 µW
Hello,
Fantastic info in the forum but I am a little bit "off the road" and would need some guidance :)
I need to repair a small lithium pack from my son's mini e-scooter but soon I will have the same problem. I tried to find help locally but the price everyone asks it's crazy, at least 150€ just to see the battery problem; if some cell needs to be replaced it's an extra, if it's the BMS another extra, etc. Since I have some knowledge and access to some tools and machinery I decided to repair/make packs by myself and help other people as well. I found out that many people have their e-scooters at home just because they can't pay for the repair and in some cases, it's 1 burnt cell or 1 wire that went loose, I could help some of these people as well.
I am trying to figure out the best spot-welding machine for my case if I can get some suggestions... Those kits that look cheap won't be cheap because I don't have 3S Lipo cells or a balancer and a decent Lipo + Balancer is above 100€ locally. Maybe the solution could be a standalone welding machine?
Thank's in advance!

Kweld can use a 12V car battery as can the Malectrics spot welder. There are many battery powered spot welders That work with a 12V car battery. Kweld and Malectrics spot welders both work well. I own both. I also tried a couple other spot welders with so so results.
There is a clone of the malectrics on AliExpress.
later floyd

Go with the K-weld they work great and the guy that designed it is solid.
Got 2 of em.
I use the lipo battery for power and get about 200 welds before having to recharge.
Every weld is perfect.

So the best solution is to get the k-weld, a lipo and lipo charger? Or car battery and charger?
Wouldn’t be cheaper to buy those big units with all inclusive?
Chargers, battery’s, machine we are looking around 200$