Testing of B grade lithium ion lipo soft pouch cells

wire.rat

100 mW
Hi all,

I will be conducting tests to find out about the self discharge characteristics of the high capacity lipo cells that you can get directly from china. I will be buying 3.7v 20Ah cells directly from this link
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.0.0.2ed6e797pTlNV3&id=539888371314
for about $8 usd each per cell and get them shipped to my doorstep in Singapore for about $3.10 usd per kg.
Heres some photos of the cells from the item page.
ayFDbtb.png

HmzBfJo.png

Here's a bit of background of myself. I am a high school student in Singapore, where its close proximity to china allows me to get Cells shipped to me for cheap.
I first discovered about endless sphere when I was trying to find out how to build my own battery packs using 18650 cells for my electric bicycle with a 1 kw motor. Since then i have gone through 2 spot welders and made at about 10 batteries for other people. All of these batteries were made using Brand new sealed in box 18650 LG F1L 3400mah cells which had very good specific energy, but they came at a high cost at about $2.56 USD per cell, about $0.752/Ah. this is almost double of the $0.400/Ah of the 20Ah Lipo cell. Thus these lipo cells will be about half the price compared to 18650 battery and will be easier to put together as compared to spot welding 18650 cells.

The purpose of this thread is to try to find out what quality of the cheap B grade cells that you can buy directly from china from sites like aliexpress or ebay.

Firstly we will start with a explanation of the grades of the batteries.

In china, the quality of batteries that you can purchase as a random person on the internet are divide into a few grades.