The Pusher

51owRider

1 mW
Hi All, new user soaking up the wealth of information here, ES is a great resource.

I've been riding longish distances on my road bike for many years but my age is catching up with me and I'm thinking about adding a motor to my single-wheeled trailer. The trailer has a 16-inch wheel and 100 mm alloy dropouts. I'd like to get about 150 W of assistance and a range of at least 250 km or 10 hours.

A route that I regularly travel is 250 km, mostly flat but sometimes windy. I average 24 to 28 km/h and 150 to 200 W depending on the wind, weight of stuff in panniers or trailer, time of year etc. It would be wonderful to complete this journey a bit faster and without suffering too much the next day.

First idea was to get a direct drive hub motor for the reliability and longevity (and possibly regen braking, later on) but what I could find was either too expensive or too heavy. At the moment I'm looking at this AKM-100H geared motor at 328 RPM, am I correct in speculating that if I drive it at 48V it can deliver some power at 35 km/h on a 16" wheel?

Not sure if I'm using the motor simulator correctly but it seems a 40Ah 48V battery would be more than sufficient:
motorsim001.png

Can anyone recommend a suitable controller?

Any input is appreciated.

Some thoughts about pusher trailers:

If they don't have enough weight on them, there won't be enough traction for the motor to help you. How much weight is enough depends on the situation and the weight/balance of whatever the trailer is pushing, and how the pusher is connected to what it's pushing. You may have to experiment to ensure traction in all the situations.

A "heavy" motor and battery may be a benefit for those situations, depending on the other stuff the trailer has to carry.

But a DD motor will add some drag (sometimes significant) when not powered, or when your speed exceeds that of the assist capability.