Trying to understand how many amps/watts a motor can actually take.

Edward312

1 mW
Hi ES,

First of all, I’m new to ebikes and motor technology please pardon me for my stupidity.

I have been searching, reading for the past months trying to figure out how much amps a motor can actually take.

So far, what I have learned is amps/torque is what heats up the motor.
1. So I can pump as much amps as I can, as long as the motor stay cool? ( cooling mod, ventilation..)
2. My controller is pulling 80amps from battery during acceleration, and ~30 near top speed ( within 90%). So if I swap to a 150amps controller, same condition same load, the controller will pull 150amps during acceleration then ~30amps within 90%?

If these are true, then does it mean that if my motor will do fine with any bigger controllers, as long as condition and load stays the same ( to pull 30amps near rpm).
So what do I look for? I want a bigger, beefier controller.

I’m running 72v, the rating of motor is unknown.
80amps controller, after a long ride with heavy load, motor stays warm.

Thank you

Edward

Edit: it is a hub motor

What motor?

Amps don't get pushed.

The weight of the load, the slope of the hill, the motor rpm / voltage determine how many amps get pulled.

Besides the heat issue there is a point where the maximum torque is reached, is determined really by the mass of the magnets, the iron & copper.

The other issue is, you get much greater reliability & longevity by not pushing anywhere near the maximum limit, true for all the components involved.l

take the motor apart and log all the details on the inside. What thickness of laminations, the number of magnets in the rotor, the number of stator-teeth, etc. Install a temp sensor (or two), and re-install. If its possible to enlarge the motor phase wires inside the motor as they exit the motor case, now would be the best time to do that. If the passageway has room for fatter wires, it's probably only $20 or so to upgrade them.