Velectrix fold throttle cut off after motor replacement.

attic100

1 µW
This is my first time here. My sincerest apologies if I’ve unknowingly disregarded any rules/practices in posting this here.

Now to the matter at hand. I bought used a Velectrix fold here in Aus. It had its battery and motor removed, and was on its original wiring, throttle, controller, display and PAS sensor.

I threaded in a new Bafang G311 to the front wheel and put a new UPP (I realise now this was possibly an unwise choice) 36v battery. The new motor is an upgrade from 200w that the bike originally sold with to 250w. Both motor and battery are 36v units in accordance with the ratings on the controller.

Now, PAS works flawlessly, but the throttle cuts out after about a second or two. Lifting the front wheel reveals that the post cut out, the throttle does manage to spin the wheel but extremely slowly.

In addition to this the speed readings on the display are extremely overblown, I’m assuming at lest 5 to 6 times higher.

I have two questions:
1. I have a feeling the throttle cut off happens due to the inflated speed, because the stock controller/display (apologies I would like some clarity on this) has a built in speed limiter.
2. How on earth do I resolve this? From threading a wheel to working out the electrics, everything has been a first for me here, so saying I’m a newbie would be an understatement.

P.S. Yes PAS works fine, but it often causes the front wheel to spin out, which was fine till on a rainy winters night I took a bad fall on the pavement and busted my wrist cartilage. So I’m pretty hell bent on getting the throttle going at this point.

Resources:
Here is a link to the bike specs: https://www.99bikes.com.au/velectrix-foldaway-grey-2020
Please find attached, the picture of the bike controller. I think it’s the same one that came from Velectrix when it was bought by the previous owner.

Attachments

• EE3594F4-5D7A-4023-8EC8-D88C16856573.png