Bad design -- no kill switch

rf

1 kW
I'm new here. Only not really. I built a very nice ebike with the help of smart folks here a few years ago. Rode it to work daily for almost a year. It failed and dumped continuous full-power to the rear wheel on a start from a traffic light. Rush hour. Front wheel came off the ground, no matter how much I stood up and leaned forward I couldn't bring it back down. Woke up in the street with a crowd of people staring down at me and ambulance attendees arriving. I recovered from the concussion in a couple days. At least I was wearing a helmet.

It was a prototype. I threw it together. It was my fault. It had no kill switch. Worse, it had a microprocessor in charge of everything with no emergency overrides. I'm a programmer, I should know better. Most likely the Cycle Analyst crashed while the system was at full throttle. It stayed at full throttle with no brains to impose limits. So I stopped riding it to work.

Now it's time to re-engineer the toy and make it work again. Safely. So I need some ideas for a kill switch or other similar safety mechanisms. Never trust a computer to impose limits when safety is at stake.

The machine:

* 26" moutain bike
* Crystalyte 408 rear wheel.
* 72-volt controller
* Cycle Analyst (early version)
* 72-volt battery comprised of 64 - A123 cells

Bike has a solid top/cruise speed of 40 mph. Okay, that's probably a bit crazy, but it's soooo much fun!

I'm thinking of simply adding a cutoff switch on the battery pack, stubbed out to the handlebars. But it would be nice if enough power remained to keep the Cycle Analyst functioning -- assuming it hasn't crashed. Yes, I know that's a bit messier. Every motorcycle I ever owned had a cutoff switch on the handlebars. Seems like a natural. (Or simply dumb not to have it.)

In addition it would be nice if the power cutoff extended to the last 1/8th inch of throttle travel ... just to be sure the harried rider doesn't have to think too much in an emergency.