Choosing a cell type for GMAC 10T trike build

emcdermid

10 µW
So, I'm new to this, and I think I've gone through enough details to confuse myself. I need a sanity check, or at least battery advice. :)

I've put together a build for my recumbent (tadpole-style) trike. It'll be a Grin GMAC10T/CA3/Phaserunner setup, with a torque sensing BB for pedal assist. Total weight of rider and trike (with motor/battery) is about 330 lbs, though I hope to eventually bring that down to 290 or less. As such, the plan is primarily pedal assist to help with hills - I'll have a throttle, but that's just to get me out of trouble/get me home if something goes wrong with my knee, etc.

On the theory of "nobody regrets too much battery" and "I don't need to fit it on a downtube", I've zeroed in on the EM3EV rectangular hard case 14s7P, which comes with a few different cell options. The choices, in increasing order of cost, along with the current ratings from EM3EV are as follows: (Edited to correct the numbers for the 25r, which I'd put down incorrectly and were low.)

25r - 17.2 AH (max continuous current 40A, max burst 55A)
PF - 20 AH (max continuous current 40A, max burst 55A, same price as the 25r)
35E - 23.8 AH (max continuous current 36A, max burst 47A)
HG2 - 20 AH (no current stats listed, though I'd expect they're probably higher?)

Using Grin's trip simulator, even a really aggressive climb (for me) up to Rocky Mountain National Park from here on the Colorado front range would stay within the GMAC's wattage range if I apply a 20A current limit, though I could probably go up to 30A if and when I do finally drop those extra pounds. And most of my trips into towns (I'm rural) wouldn't come close to that and would likely use 8-10 AH of battery, wind permitting. My wife and I would love to eventually try some light "credit card" touring, but that'd be a special occasion kind of thing.