Dual drive ebike- controller alternative.

DomW

100 µW
Greetings,
I am very new to ebikes. I like to tinker/hack/modify/reprogram etc. Strap a microcontroller on it and WooHoo! Why I am posting is I would like a controller with a GUI and a lot more data than the monochrome LCD that came with the bike. I am happy with it's speed and most everything else about it. I don't think it is giving all that it's got on hills, but I could be wrong and my 250lbs is too much for it. I have done a lot of Google searches for controllers and I think the ones based on VESC fits the bill. From the apps I have looked at for the iPhone and a VESC based controller, I think I would be happy. My wife might not be, but I would be. I am looking for input or recommendations from people with ebike experience.

What I have looked at are:
or
Two of these connected through CAN bus maybe?
or
This one looks like it has the specs, but all I read about it is for electric skateboards.

If you know of other companies making a VESC or another type of controller, let me know. My budget is around $200, but less is better.

Here is what I have:
E-Bycco EB7PRO dual drive ebike.
Specs: 2x1000w geared hub motors. Their video on replacing the motor showed it has three gears inside. On the motors is printed 48V1000W25"23072007 with an H in a circle logo
Controller: It has 2, Label says: Brushless DC Moter Controller, Voltage: DC48V
Maximum current: 21+-1A, Brake: Low level, Low voltage protection: 39+-1V
Product number: JH4AJ5135DZYK, Batch No:JHD20230719, Ex-factory date: 19-07-2023
Dongguan jing hui Controller Co;LTD
Yes, it says Moter. Looks like the spell checker was fired in early July.
Bike has cruise, horn, headlight, thumb throttle, front motor on/off button and a LCD-M5 display with three buttons.

Results for- eb7pro - 1 of 1 (1).jpegResults for- eb7pro - 1 of 1.jpegResults for- eb7pro - 1 of 1 (2).jpeg

Attachments

• Results for- eb7pro - 1 of 1 (4).jpeg
    Results for- eb7pro - 1 of 1 (4).jpeg