New controller for 2WD ebike

sleepingcat

1 µW
Hello,

This is my first post on this forum, I only recently bought an ebike about a week ago. I am very new to this all so please bear with me.

I have bought this bike from Alibaba, everything is ok with it. It drives great, goes up to 50kmh on full charge below 90/80% it goes 45kmh, I can switch between 1WD(rear) and 2WD, it supposedly has two 48v 1000W motors and 3 batteries totaling 70ah. The top mounted battery is 25ah and connected to only the front wheel, the two 22ah batteries are connected to the rest of the system.

Everything is working great and I am happy but I was supposed to be able to switch between limited (25kmh) and unlimited mode but they forgot to program that into the controllers, they want to send me new controllers with this limiter programmed into it but I will have to replace the old ones so I was thinking I might get a different controller(s). I saw VESC software on Reddit and that looked pretty cool but I looked at the hardware and it felt like I was trying to read a different language.

The issue is that I am completely new and even though I have been researching and looking at ebikes for about 4 months I can't wrap my head around the electronics.

With that in mind, where do I start? I was looking for controllers but it is kind of overwhelming. I wanted a controller that I can program/tinker with because I really want to learn how to work on the non-mechanical parts of my bike.

I would love to get a controller that I can at least change the basic behavior of the motors, set speeds/torque for PAS levels. I would also like to be able to monitor power usage and maybe better insight in battery charge state but I don't know if that is the controller or the BMS that would do that. Really something that is basic to set-up but still has some freedom to tinker and learn. And also not too expensive, I don't know the pricing on such controllers but 200 euro would be my cap.