First ebike, Questions? Cyclone?

halfawake454

10 mW
Hey, so I am new to the whole ebike scene. Recently, I bought a bike for commuting. I ride a few miles to school somtimes, but the thing is when I get there I am sweaty and gross and I don't feel like doing class, so I end up driving anyway. I thought about actually getting a scooter, but it is a still too much of a waste of money if i have a to pay insurance, so I am not going that route. I started looking at ebikes and had seen some pretty fast ones people had built on youtube. The problem is a lot of the stuff was really expensive, but recently I found the cyclone-tw.com site and was looking at their 750W 3 chainwheel kit. On the site is mentions that it is capable of doing 60km/h and after emailing them and asking questions about different kits they mentioned the 750W kit would go 65km/h. It just feels like they are making it sound faster than it really would go. I wanted to get opinions of people here who know about ebikes and possibly the cyclone kits. Would this go the speeds they are claiming or are they just lying to get a sale? I don't want it to sound like I'm a speed demon and nothing else matter, but the matter is I want to get to school and back to my apartment quickly without tiring myself out.

The thing is it feels like a waste of money to me if I don't get something that goes 30mph+ because as of now, everyday on my bike i can get up to 27mph and keep that speed for a pretty good distance. Feels like I am wasting money if I get motor that can't do at least what I am able to.

So please, answer my questions about the speed and anything else about the kit that you think might be work mentioning.