MUST READ - eBikes are LEGAL in the USA - Since HR727 8-2001

mwkeefer

1 MW
To all my ES Brothers,

I've been watching the back and forth, is it legal is it not... mostly US arguments, my state says no, NJ took my bike, I got a ticket for driving on a DUI suspended license and did 6 months jail time!!!!!

E N O U G H !!!!

Sorry I'm very frustrated, I've been explaining without quoting law or citing House Rule or Senate Votes on said Bills turning them into law nor the subsequent regulation which came from the new jurisdictional body - this is only the US, I didn't have the time to chase down the Federal Code, the lexus-nexus briefs relating to this law and pertaining to the US Department of Transportation in addition to the Consumer Protection Safety Act where in fact the jurisdiction now lay.

Since I'm not a lawyer I don't ask you to believe me, I actually will walk you through from the August, 2001 inspection and passage of original HR-707 and the subsequent addendum with links to official records (find your own if you don't trust mine) and in some cases a break down of what each passage means to keeping your eBike (commercial, which none do - or DIY legal in the USA).

BTW: There is non law against having an off-road mode, for true compliance even not written I'd have it locked out with a key switch off the side of the bike somewhere just to make it seem like an old 4wd you had to get out and lock the hubs it makes police and others think it's much more difficult to do and that you cant do it while riding :)

----
Where does US Federal Law come from for Light Weight Electric Bicycles?