My first e-bike build - Yuba Mundo

dabeindan

1 mW
This is my very first e-bike build. As a total novice I just wanted to share my experiences and provide some details of the kit I bought from BMSBATTERY.COM. Maybe the photos can help answer some questions, and at the same time perhaps someone can provide suggestions or tips on a better way of doing things.
I am in no way promoting bmsbattery, nor do I have any association with them. I picked them because of low cost, and in many ways you get what you pay for.

Battery is a 36v, 12ah LiFePO4 in an alloy casing. 2 poles (+/-), lock is just mechanical and no on/off switch.
IMGP4990.jpg

IMGP4994.jpg

IMGP4999.jpg

Controller with the battery wires on top of photo, thick red, thick black, thin red. I had questions on the thin red wire and how to connect to the battery (only two wires). See my other post titled "BMSBATTERY kit - Battery to Controller question" and advice from Dnmun, Dogman and d8veh (thank you all).
IMGP5003.jpg

Brake cables connected to the controller, brake wires on the lower side of picture, and controller side on the upper. Notice that one set on the controller side wire is a single wire and the other has two wires. In testing the only one worked was the brake level connected to the double controller wire, not the single side. Is this by design? Or did I not connect something correctly? Or is this controller faulty?
IMGP5005.jpg

Motor wires (three thick) and hall sensor wires (5 thin) – it came uncoupled on the motor side (lower side of pic); I had to match and insert into the supplied blank connector.
IMGP5006.jpg

IMGP5008.jpg

Brake levers wires at 60 inches.
IMGP5009.jpg

Throttle wires at 78 inches. Throttle with no on/off switch, but has battery indicators. (I later used a different one with an on/off switch)
IMGP5011.jpg