My Razor Ecosmart Metro Mod Thread

birdpriest

1 µW
Hi all!

I’m brand new to Endless Sphere so let this serve as both my introductory post and my thread on what brought me to y’alls lovely forum in the first place - my new Razor Ecosmart Metro scooter, and the whack of upgrades and mods I’ve got planned for it!

I’m a 30-year-old artist and amateur electronics tinkerer. I work with an inventor developing power-assist mobility solutions for manual wheelchair users, a world I sort of fell into about 10 years ago when I became paraplegic. Fast forward to late last year, when I received my first mechanical (non-electric) exoskeleton system, which allows me to stand and walk with forearm crutches and about 15lbs of hardware. I still have no control over my lower body BUT I look like a cyborg when I wear the thing so that’s a definite bonus. Anyway one major downside is that it’s hugely energy intensive, very hot in non-winter weather, and much slower than normal-people walking, which is where this scooter comes into play. My employer and I are compensating for my lack of balance by adding custom-made training wheels, and a go kart seat instead of the bike saddle for stability. Those parts aren’t so tough... It’s the electrics that I need help with. My plans are as follows:

- Replace stock SLA 3x12V batteries with 1x36V lithium battery + 1x36V backup battery for extended mileage. Simple on/off toggle switches on handlebar “control panel” will control which battery is providing power.
- LED battery level indicators from the original lithium battery cases will be mounted onto my control panel to provide ability to check batt. level.
- Remove on/off rocker switch from side of battery well, patch up hole, replace with keyed ignition in handlebar control panel (CP).
- Each lithium battery will have a 30A in-line blade fuse in holder, same type as comes with scooter.