Prodeco Outlaw SS looking at buying

69tr6r

1 mW
Hey guys, I'm looking at a Prodeco Outlaw SS for sale locally on FB marketplace. The guy claims the charger doesn't work any more. He's asking $800.

Is there a way to tell if the rest of the bike (motor and electronics) work if the battery is completely dead? Like can I hook up a 12v battery to some point and see the motor spins?

I'm a very skilled bike mechanic, so no worries about the rest of the bike, I can check that all out.

I would prob offer him $500 and plan on buying a new battery to mount inside the frame. I just want to make sure the rest of the bike is ok.

Thanks!

A 9Ah battery is way undersized for a throttle only bike anyway. Try starting out with what you would be willing to spend on a working bike that's set up the way you like it. Then subtract out the cost of the components you would need to get it there. The components I see that I'd assign some sort of value to are the motor (assuming it's working), the fork (assuming the fork seals aren't leaking), and the frame, if the style suits you. I'd plan on replacing the battery, controller (I like a quiet bike, so sine wave), and replace the rack with something useable. Personally, I wouldn't offer more than $300 since there's no way to test anything.

The good news is, is that if you move to lithium ion, you may be able to get a battery with a lot more capacity and not a lot more weight. With that frame, I'd probably place it under the down tube instead of the triangle.

The components I see that I'd assign some sort of value to are the motor (assuming it's working), the fork (assuming the fork seals aren't leaking), and the frame, if the style suits you.

That was a one-size bike if I remember correctly. So it's much better if you're almost the one size than if you're a different size.

Even for bike models that came in many sizes, the only ones you should consider riding regularly are those that fit.