Sabvoton 72150 is hot

Paintpennn

1 mW
Hi, I'm new to ebikes. I recently bought a stealth bomber clone off alibaba. 12,000(allegedly) watt 2.5T motor with Sabvoton 150amp controller pretty standard fare . It has 72v 40 ah battery. Seems to run fine. Its a blast to ride. The other day after riding I took the battery cover off and the controller was hot to touch. I would say damn hot. Is this normal? What could cause this?. Any info would be helpful. thanks

Is the controller out in the airflow to provide the cooling it requires?

Or is it buried inside a bag or box or housing where it cannot shed the heat it generates?

It's strapped to the top inside the metal frame of the bike above the battery. It's getting little to no air flow...

Then I would recommend moving it to the outside of the frame, on the front part of the "downtube" area behind the front wheel, as that is typically the most airflow-exposed area short of the forks above the wheel, and is where other bikes with powerful controllers often mount them, when they don't use specially-designed cooling systems to move the heat out of the controller to the outside air.

There are various physical designs used for controllers bearing the name Sabvoton (as there are several places selling different versions of them), so if the controller has a thicker part of it's casing made of aluminum, that part is intended to shed the heat to the air, and should be the part facing the front / airflow. If it's all the same thickness, then whereever it is finned, especially at the spot the FETs are bolted to the heatsink from inside (usually a line of screws on the case), should face the airflow.