Some tips on commuting to work by bicycle or E-bike

RLutz

1 mW
This topic has very likely been discussed in depth. Doing a search "Commute" hits over 7000 times and is over 290 pages. So I figure It won't hurt to put my spin on the topic.

I have been commuting off and on by bike or e-bike for 30 years. Here are some tips I would like to share and I encourage other community members too add anything I have missed.

Inspect your bike before every ride. Check chain tension, tire pressure, the nuts and bolts for looseness, wire connections, batteries and anything specific to your bike.

If you are running late, leave the bike home and take the car, bus or call a rideshare.

Keep some things with you, but stash other things at work ahead of time.

The things to keep on your person, cell phone, wallet/purse, basic tools, rain gear.

The things you can stash at your work are, change of clothes, shoes, personal hygine products, Wash cloth and towel.
If charging your bike at work, can you get a 2nd charger to leave in your desk? Keep the nice one at home and the slow charger at work, after all you are likely to be there eight or more hours.

Take a shower in the morning right before you depart for your commute. When you arrive, cool off for 10-15 min. then with a damp wash cloth wipe the sweat off your torso. Dry off and change into your work clothes. Because you washed prior to riding to work, all you are washing off is salt, electrolytes and road grime. The wash cloth and towel, if allowed to dry, should be good for 1 week of repeat use.

By keeping as much as possible at your destination, you don’t need to haul all that extra weight and bulk each way.

Consider paniers rather than a backpack. It gets the weight off your back and lowers your center of gravity. You can load bike stuff on one side and work stuff on the other. Wearing a backpack also hold all the heat your body is trying to radiate when your exercising.