Stealthy commuter is finished!

molybdenum

1 kW
Hi all,

After gaining an interest in green technology and beginning the planning phase for an e-bike project, my research quickly led to endless sphere. Although I'm admittedly a total noob when it comes to e-bikes (never having touched one), I'm familiar with some of the technology that goes into making one and the rest I will learn as I go. I hope to have this all put together quickly, though I think that early May would be a realistic completion date given my busy schedule.

My commute, for which I currently use a non-electric hybrid, is just over 14 km each way. The least hilly and most direct route happens to be very dangerous for bicycles, so I take a longer route with several hills (maybe a couple short hills with 8 degree gradient and no steep hills longer than 500 m).

Ideally, my build should:
- Be water resilient (In the pacific northwest, you don’t ride if you don’t like rain)
- Have a top speed of 50 kph, and a range of at least 35 km at 35 kph without pedalling.
- Be stealthy in appearance (I would be riding at cruising speeds of 35-40 kph max with some pedalling and hopefully won’t be drawing too much attention).

In order to achieve this, I'm thinking of the following:
- Crystalyte HS3540 (rear).
- 35A 48-72 V controller.
- 66 V (nominal) 15 Ah high discharge battery (I might go to 20 Ah depending on the c rating of the available cells).

From running the simulations at ebikes.ca (at 66 v,15 Ah), I realize that the clyte motor would burn in 22-30 min if I held WOT on a full charge but I think some common sense and good old fashioned restraint should get me by. I’ll definitely consider a Cycle Analyst and a temp sensor. Just going to 80% throttle on the flats would be sufficient to prevent burnout. My target speed of 35-40 kph would be achieved at 50-60% throttle and the range should be between 67 and 50 km at these speeds.