Steel dropout spread from over tightening

Propofolboy

10 mW
Hi everyone.
I'm pretty new to this and a bit disappointed this morning.

I installed a 1000W hubmotor on my front steel fork of my fatbike a couple weeks ago, and thought I'd done a good job. The spacing was tight, so I wasn't able to put any washers between the inside of the dropout and the axel shoulder of the hub motor (it has quite a small shoulder I now realize). On the outside of the dropout I installed a c washer, then a 1/4" stainless steel torque arm bolted to fender eyelet, and an axel nut on BOTH sides. On the non wire side of the hub motor I used a torque wrench to 60 N.m. On the wire side I just used a crescent wrench, and probably only 30 N.m.

Things had been going well until yesterday I checked the axel nut and they were loose. I decided to take the whole setup apart to make sure nothing was wrong. I hadn't had any issues at all riding the bike (no spinout or anything). To my horror I discovered that the inside of the dropout on the side I torqued to 60 N.m had become damaged. It looked the the shoulder of the axel of the hub motor had dug into the bottom of the dropout, spread it out about 2 mm and distorted the metal. The top 60% of the dropout however was fine, only the bottom had spread out. The other side dropout was perfect, no sign of spinout or anything. The two torque arms were also perfect, and very snug on the axel (no sign of spinout).

My impression was then that the torque of the hub motor had not created any spinout despite having only hand tightened nuts for at least a few of my rides, but the process of torqueing the axel nut had created a wedging effect and spread out the one dropout and slightly damaged it.