Suggestions how to go about this?

Glenn74Swe

100 µW
Hello everyone! Glenn from Sweden here
se.png

(Yet another noob here having some questions regarding tuning an e-bike)

20876554-2DQx1.jpg

I have a Viarelli Fat Bike with the following components: 36v, 13ah, li-ion, 250w small hub motor, PAS assisted and a LCD computer. Everything preinstalled. (controller 12A, 6 fets labelled "LVBELAN" as manufacturer http://motorsweden.se/reservdelar/fordon/elcykel/viarelli-fatbike36/controller-fatbike36)
The bike is legally restricted to 25 km/h and like many others I would like to go a bit faster. Now, I don’t want a speed demon but I would like it to go in the 35-40 km/h range with PAS assist only. I can set the speed to 60 km/h on the LCD computer but that wont make the bike to go any faster. I have also tried to set the wheel size to both bigger and smaller but that doesn’t help either.

1. I understand that some controllers have a wire loop that, if you disconnect it, will increase speed somewhat. My controller doesn’t have a loop which led me to think that somewhere on the circuit board there is fixed loop although the cables don’t stick out. Any thoughts on that? On the underside of the circuit board there is a brownish capacitor (I think) that looks kinda out of place that I haven't seen on other controller boards. Is this some kind of restrictor? It looks something like this if I remember correctly: http://kaizerpowerelectronics.dk/wp-content/uploads/47nK-250-480x480.jpg (the numbers aside)

2. I’m really tossing and turning weather to modify the controller I have or to buy another one. I have read A LOT regarding tuning an e-bike the last couple of days but I am not getting any wiser. From my understanding the only way to increase speed is to up the voltage but I don’t want to buy a bigger battery and arouse the police. I want it to be a ”sleeper”. But if you can disconnect a cable to make a motor to spin faster then what happens inside the controller?