Surly ECR and BAFANG BBS02 48V 750W Mid Drive Kit

RickUrb

1 µW
I'm thinking about converting my 2020 surly ECR to electric.
My first inclination is to go with what Jone's Bikes is putting on theirs, Bafang mid drive.
I'm specifically thinking of the BAFANG BBS02 48V 750W.
It's half the price of the 1000 and I think it may get me by. A heavy rider, but I don't ride fast. I like to take it on gigs and I would probably need to get about 60 miles out of it.
also, I’m not sure if their batteries are UL approved. Any idea? It’s kind of a big thing with me.
Any other ideas on manufacturers to look at? The only thing about Bafang is it seemed, judging by the videos, that it wasn't the best build quality. But I am new to this and looking for input.
Thanks much

Last edited:
I'm thinking about converting my 2020 surly ECR to electric.
My first inclination is to go with what Jone's Bikes is putting on theirs, Bafang mid drive.
As long as you already know the drive will fit your bike, as there are various BB standards, frame designs and shapes, and the various middrives will only fit a limited selection of these.

If you're not sure a drive will fit your frame, you may have to look up the drawings and measurements of the drive, and compare those to your actual frame. (different model years of a frame may have different shapes/etc).

I'm specifically thinking of the BAFANG BBS02 48V 750W.

It's half the price of the 1000 and I think it may get me by. A heavy rider, but I don't ride fast. I like to take it on gigs and I would probably need to get about 60 miles out of it.