THE EXCALIBUR - ELECTRIC CONVERSION PROJECT

Hi guys,

This is SHAILENDRA SHANKAR, from Chennai, India. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering and a Master’s degree in Energy and Environmental Engineering. This combination makes me a BeliEVer. After much deliberation and an early mid-life crisis, I have finally started taking steps for my pilot conversion project. Deliberation, because I cleared my 2nd Semester course called BASIC ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING - I and my 3rd Semester course called BASIC ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING - II only in my 5th Semester. So it was going to be tough.

I did a basic study about EVs and found out that the whole thing was rather simple (yeah, right.)

I need 5 things to pull this off.
A donor Bike
Motor
Battery
Throttle
Bucket loads of Cash

I had none of the above. But nothing is going to stop me.

THE DONOR:

It took quite a while to zero in on a donor. I had many bikes in mind. Since I did not have a bike in hand, I had to buy a second-hand one. Which costs money. So I had to ask around if anybody was willing to donate a bike for SCIENCE.

A friend of mine fortunately had a bike, and was willing to give me the bike, for SCIENCE. He originally wanted to bring the baby back to life but gave up on the idea. He said that it had been sleeping in his garage for many years (literally flat on the floor). It had been there for so long that he had forgotten it’s existence.

As you can see, there was really nothing my friend could do with it. It had no papers to prove it was road worthy, so I thought I might as well convert it into an electric bike. It would still be illegal to ride, but who would care.
caliber.JPG
It is a K(awasaki)Bajaj Caliber. Or at least it was. A 4-stroke, air cooled, single cylinder 111.60cc city commuter.

THE MOTOR:

I had initially planned on a mid-drive motor, but then changed my mind.