TSDZ2 mid-drive vs Q100CST hub motor?

dahu33

1 mW
Early 2016, I've finished my second and last build to date: a 20" Dahon JetStream with a S06S controller and a Q100CST hub motor. It's a really fun bike to ride and I absolutely love it.

y9QhLvc.jpg

I mostly use this "mini monster" for short/random commutes and sometimes longer one (like to go to work). It's basically 100% urban.

Last week my Q100CST died after a few years of good service. Now, I'm wondering if that is a good opportunity to switch to a mid-drive motor and I'm particularly interested in the TSDZ2 - Alfine 8-speed IGH combo.

I've never ridden a mid-drive before so I'm not 100% sure I would be happy with a TSDZ2 and I would love some input from the experts here.

What I like about my current build:
- great acceleration (just a few second to the top speed of 32kmh)
- silent/discreet
- light weight

What I'm excited about the TSDZ2:
- torque sensor
- open-source firmware (I'm a developer and I've been dreaming for years about being able to customize my ebike software)
- no more RPM/volt limitation (currently I have to fight against my hub motor above 32kmh)
- learning new stuff :)

What I'm worry about the TSDZ2:
- noise: it seems noisy in all the videos I found on youtube, is the motor way more noisy compared to a Q100CST?
- weight: any indication of how much heavier the TSDZ2 will feel compared to the Q100CST?
- acceleration: will I still get a decent acceleration up to the ~30kmh?

Please, help me to make the correct decision! Any feedback is welcome!

Thanks!

There is a distinct gear whine with mine that I find slightly irritating. It's not loud, but it's audible.

The motor is, IIRC, 3.2kg (3.5kg?), but you will be discarding the bottom bracket, so it adds <3kg. My entire electrification adds about 4kg/9lb to my bike (52V mini-cube battery).