57' Triumph TRW

bnchrch

100 µW
Hey all,

Ive been lurking here for a bit and wanted to kick off a thread around a build I'm considering using a 1957 TRW I inherited.

As you can see its in a bit of a state of disrepair and instead of spending a decade trying to restore it I'm thinking a more fun option would be to do an electric conversion.

So a couple questions to all of you here

1. Is it a sin to convert this era of bike? It's certainly a classic.
  2. It seems like the main trade off(s) between hub and mid drive is that hubs lack the ability to tune the gearing and lead to an awkward weight distribution. At the same time they make more room for a battery. Is that correct?
  3. I see a lot of people here building their own batteries. If I wanted to avoid that, is there even a suitable manufactured battery pack on market for an electric motorcycle?
  4. If I did build my own battery, how can I best avoid catastrophe? (fire/electrocution)
Anyway I'm new to this but just want to say thanks in advance to anyone who wants to offer their input!

IMG_4444 Large.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_4447 Large.jpeg
    IMG_4447 Large.jpeg
    317 KB · Views: 27
  • IMG_4449 Large.jpeg
    IMG_4449 Large.jpeg
    401.3 KB · Views: 23
  • IMG_4450 Large.jpeg
    IMG_4450 Large.jpeg
    421.4 KB · Views: 23
  • IMG_4448 Large.jpeg
    IMG_4448 Large.jpeg
    268 KB · Views: 26
1) Yes.
2) Yes.
3) Yes.
4) By being careful, having a non flammable build area, and being ready to deal with flaming cells.

If you are going to spot weld up a battery pack you'll need a decent welder. I burnt up a couple of cheap ones before I finally bought a Kweld. It works great.

Good luck on your build. It could be a classic emoto.

Is it a sin to convert this era of bike? It's certainly a classic.