More greed from Auto manufacturers

Is there no end to it?
Why would there be?

People have proven willing to do this for their computers and their phones for quite some time, as well as their entertainment devices/etc., so why not their cars? Most likely it also applies to smart household appliances but I have no experience with these.

Businesses in general will do whatever makes them the most profit, for as long as their customers will tolerate it.

As soon as another business sees this happening, they will take up the same model or a worse one, until it spreads among most of them.

It won't stop until consumers refuse to buy from them...and if it is something the average consumer is unwilling to live without that isn't provided by any business not using that model...it won't change, only get worse.

BMW being BMW!

One of my first cars was a mechanic's special e36 328i.. it needed a lot of little repairs, and it was the car i learned auto mechanics on.
There were parts on that car that were designed to fail by a certain period of time, like a plastic water pump.

After my experience with American cars, then German ones, i went with Japanese cars, preferably built in Japan, ever since, because i have yet to encounter any serious atrocities of engineering or customer screwery yet.

I would say that the problem is ultimately people's willingness to ignore their affect on others in favor of pursuing their own whims and urges, which translates to a willingness to pretend that others are not as worthwhile as my urges.

Pretending, lying, willful ignorance, blaming, denying, demonizing - all cheap and easy ways to make getting what I want an option (or so it seems, so I'll grab for it).

Actually acknowledging others as the same as me means admitting I can't have what I want sometimes.

Businesses in general will do whatever makes them the most profit, for as long as their customers will tolerate it.