Need Help Planning a 2-person Off-Road Go Kart system

VinyVidi...

1 µW
Hi, I've been lurking through this site for a bit now but this is my first post, I hope it's in the right place:

My little sister's birthday is right near christmas and I want to get her a combined bday\xmas present that's worthy of the joint celelbration. Since she's a tweener I think she'll get a kick out of an offroad electric go-kart and who am I kidding, I will too. I've been looking into and reading up on battery\electric systems but I am a total newb at all of this really. My diy claim to fame so far is putting together computers from ordered parts online, I know this is going to be tougher.

First, the system I'm thinking of putting together so far:

I was thinking a 48volt setup. 48v should be able to competently propel a 2 person go-kart right? Picture of the proposed chassis to follow, but I figure it's a 200 lb. chassis with electric motor and batteries installed right? The most it'd ever ask to pull are two adults at 400lbs. so I figure a 600lbs. maximum with a usual 300 or 400lb. load. And while I'm sure a 72V system would deliver even better performance I'm trying to shoot for that sweet spot of enjoyment and affordability, it seems the 72 volt systems just start getting really expensive, upwards of $4,000.

The problem I'm running into, and I'm sure there will be more, is that I'm getting worried that the project is looking more and more expensive\out of my level of comprehension, first the motor:

-In keeping with my 48v setup I need to choose the right motor, and this is probably where I'm the most open to suggestion, there are just so many different kinds of electric motors. I am scared away from brushed because of the maintenance\efficiency problems however the only brushless system I've found is far too expensive.