Noob batterypack questions

PaleAle

100 µW
Hi,

I am new to creating battery packs and have a few questions (Li-Ion 3S)

Is it better (current draw) to create packs with more cells? 10Ah using 6 cells, (10.5 ah) 9 Cells or a 10Ah with 12 Cells.

Also I am searching for schematics how to setup 6 and 9 cells and where to solder the balence cable? (no BMS)

About bms, does it make a difference adding a bms using a regular charger compared to using a chager that has a balancer?

Many thanks in advance

Yes, the more cells in parallel, the less each cell has to contribute towards the current you are drawing from the pack. Drawing 10A from a 3S2P battery means each cell is draining at 5A. Drawing 10A from a 3S4P pack means each cell only has to handle 2.5A.

A balancing charger requires more wires to connect to the battery compared to bulk charging a battery with a BMS. You also lose the ability to have a Bluetooth BMS that can report all your p-group voltages while you are using the battery.

Hi,

I am new to creating battery packs and have a few questions (Li-Ion 3S)

Is it better (current draw) to create packs with more cells? 10Ah using 6 cells, (10.5 ah) 9 Cells or a 10Ah with 12 Cells.

It's best to use cells that have all the capacity you're looking for, so you don't have to make packs with hundreds of welds and lots of extra resistance from the interconnects.

If you only teach yourself to build with Lego, then you're stuck only building things out of Lego. Might as well teach yourself to build what you actually want instead.

Once you start adding smaller packs to connect together, its a game called Lego, Lipo guys know that game well.

Not knowing anything about your specific usage scenario, it's tough to give specific answers.