Advice on Complete New E-Bike Conversion? Please

Musicman0003

1 µW
Hi Everybody,

First of all my name is Aaron, and I am Completely new to the world of Electric Biking. I am very interested in Building a Custom System for my existing Mountain Bike 26" wheels 21 Speed Shimano gear set.

I am pretty keen on a decent motor and have my eyes on one of the Crystalyte ones, say HT3525? I Travel to and from work which is about 16 kms or roughly (10 miles) each way. So a "total" of 30kms or (20miles) each day. On my way home I often do my shopping, and I can have a fair bit of weight on the back rack at times which slows me down and is quite difficult to pedal on my own so a decent electric motor setup would be quite handy if at all possible. lol.

Can anybody please advise me on a complete system to get me up and running? Bare in mind that I don't have much of an understanding of the mathematics of voltage and amperage. As I understand it at present, in general terms; volts equates to the top speed? and Amperage equates to the torque?

I'm under the impression that a torque motor would be better for my application hence my mentioning the HT3525 as I read some people are getting a little speed out of this motor anyway (up to 40mph i assume for short periods though)

-I read that an arrangement of the 5000mah Turnkey batteries are a Good choice?

-A lot of people are talking about the Lyen 12 FET 4110 MOSFET controllers?

-Last of all I am not an aggressive rider but I wouldn't mind a bit of grunt up my sleeve, something to cruise at about 15 - 20 mph most of the time with the ability to reach 28mph when required. Reliability is paramount though. I hope I have given enough information. :-/

Many Thanks to you all in advance :)

All the Best
Aaron

Hey Aaron,

Welcome to the world of ebikes, as well as to endless sphere. I recommend that you update your profile with your location. This helps us recommend parts and other assistance that could be close to you.