Cheap motor works fine but controller keeps breaking

S0up13

1 µW
Hi there,

I upgraded to a 48v 1000w brushless, gearless hub motor with hall sensors that runs on a 26-32A controller (around 1500w). My battery is a 48v 17.5ah with a 30A BMS cutoff. I figure I am pushing the battery cutoff limit but I use a 3-speed switch to keep it on low, which has run fine for days on end, sometimes nearly 100k without a problem.

The problem is, after a short amount of time (weeks or days), it keeps on shutting down and does not work unless I replace the controller. The bike rolls fine when it is not working, which I have read would point to a blown MOSFET. I have some experience building and maintaining ebikes so I have taken care of the basic troubleshooting steps (yes I have connected the switch lock and tried recharging the battery) to narrow down that it is the controller.

I weight 150lbs and my area is very hilly (lots of steep inclines in every direction). I cannot determine why this keeps happening. I purchased the 1000w motor in a DIY kit for an incredible $250 CAD (around $185 USD), so when the square-wave 2-mode controller blew I figured it was just part of a cheap kit. I am now on my second sine-wave controller that has become unresponsive. The replacement controllers are the ones bought for around $55 CAD/ $40 US, orange in colour, 26-32A, three-mode. They are very popular on Amazon these days.

I am wondering if the motor could be wound improperly or cheaply built in a way that is somehow blowing the controllers and/or my throttle? Or is it my battery causing voltage sag and high currents are blowing sensitive controller parts? Are the cheap controllers to blame? Could it be any or all of the above?

Any ideas on how to test/troubleshoot are appreciated. I have a digital multimeter and a bench DC power supply. Thanks.