• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

Does charging battery to 90% Really extend battery cycle

tomtom123

100 W
I've been watching of of this dude's video and it's pretty fun to watch. https://www.youtube.com/user/bjornnyland/videos

I noticed he only charges his Tesla model S 18650 car battery to 90% because he says it helps extends overall battery cycle life in the long run. Is this really true?

Anyone here tried charging battery to only 90% max for Lifepo4 or li-ion nico battery and see if it extends the number of cycles you can get off a battery?

Shallow discharges, followed by topping off charging does extend battery life. I have been using the same battery on my ebike for a few years now.

TT hope you don't mind hijack- I was wondering if charging slow helps also because one of the two 36v chargers didn't work when I got it so I use just the one that works and switch it between the two ports- Steve

Yes. It really does.

So does never discharging below 20% or so.

Many batteries will last >10x more cycles if you charge to ~80% and never discharge below ~30%. Yes that means you only get half the capacity.

liveforphysics said:
Yes. It really does.

Many batteries will last >10x more cycles if you charge to ~80% and never discharge below ~30%. Yes that means you only get half the capacity.
Subscribed to this thread waiting to hear from an experienced member on the subject and Walaaaaa!
Thanks for confirming liveforphysics

liveforphysics said:
Yes. It really does.

This and keeping them always under 35*C and take a slow charge.

Sad that they only test the full charge - discharge cycles and not some 90%-15% and 85%-20% or similar would be good to know as buyer.

Doesn't the Tesla model S already have a fairly conservative charge discharge % built into it?