New build: Gory Fisher hardtail 750w 36v rear hub -HELP!!

ezagent

1 µW
I bought a rear hub motor kit (requires wheel build) and a battery off ebay. This is my first build. Need some help with a few things.

FREEWHEEL

I disassembled the existing hub thinking I'd just lace the new hub in, and be on my way. The kit came with 36 spokes, existing rim? 32 spokes. Waiting for a new ebay rim but the freewheel that I disassembled, it probably won't match the hub motor, even if it does, the bearings are in two piles and there's an inner retainer ring that I don't want to deal with.

Order ebay freewheel, recommendations? Am I looking for an assembly or a part? I'd like to open up a package, screw the freewheel onto the hub motor, which will hopefully be ready and laced into the new rim.

MYSTERY WIRE

All the wires from the controller match up to the hub, throttle and battery except a thin black male connector with green, blue and red wires, what's that for? It's the only connector that doesn't match up, shown in an image below with a rubber band attached. My guess is an info display. Assuming that's what it is, what type of display should I get? Simple and cheap is always preferred.

BIG SPARK

The first time I tried to plug the battery into the controller to test it I was greeted with an aggressive spark. What causes that and how do I prevent it?

I hope it's to connect a display that enables me to monitor battery life, etc.

WHAT ELSE IS NEEDED

What do I need to monitor the battery charge? Right now my ebay battery is plugged in with a charger that has an LED indicator that runs hot with a red glow that alternates to green.

That's my starting point. Any help will be appreciated.

IMG_20190425_145543898_HDR.jpg

IMG_20200910_102251898.jpg

IMG_20200910_102301897_HDR.jpg

Screenshot_20200910-100203.png

Screenshot_20200910-100424.png

Screenshot_20200910-100803.png

Screenshot_20200910-100733.png

IMG_20200910_095821160.jpg

IMG_20200910_095839856_HDR.jpg