new member looking for advise

RonS

100 µW
Hello all,
This is my first post here on this forum.

My name is Ron, I am 55 years old, and live in southern California.
I am new to this forum, but have been on many others for various interests, and am a moderator on one forum for a different hobby/interest.

I am interested in learning about adding an electric motor to my senior citizen mothers (78 years old) recumbent trike. I am searching for information and advice for this build, and I'd greatly appreciate any input from those of you who have experience and knowledge.

I am not looking for high performance or high speeds. I am just looking for a reliable electric upgrade to add to her existing trike. I have all the mechanical skills and tools necessary to do the build, but I have no previous experience with E-bikes, so that is why I came here to gain some knowledge and insight, and recommendations.

Her trike is a Trailmate Joyrider. it is a very basic recumbent style, that is designed for handicapped and special needs people. it is a single speed that has a single chain drive from the pedals to a live rear axle. one wheel is the drive wheel, and the other rear wheel is a coaster wheel. both rear wheels are 24" "beach cruiser" type wheels. The front wheel is a 12" rim/tire with a single band type brake. There is currently no rear brake on the bike.
( I will try to post some pics, but I'm not sure how the forum is set up to do that yet, so I may or may not do it right this first try.)

It does have a factory bracket installed for an optional single speed or 3 speed hub with a coaster brake,... and I MAY be adding that upgrade to it at the same time, to provide more braking capacity for her. I am also interested in the possibility of adding a disc brake to the rear axle in lieu of the coaster brake/hub.